William Perry named co-chair of panel to assess Quadrennial Defense Review

Secretary of Defense Robert Gates has named William J. Perry joint chair of an independent panel selected to review the Department of Defense's (DOD) Quadrennial Defense Review (QDR). The bipartisan panel is required by law to submit by July 2010 a report to Congress that assesses challenges the nation faces and rebalances DoD strategies, capabilities and forces to address today's conflicts and tomorrow's threats.

The panel's assessment will include analyses of trends, asymmetries, and concepts of operations that characterize the military balance with potential adversaries, focusing on the strategic approaches of possible opposing forces.

The independent panel consists of 20 members, eight of whom are selected by Congress.

The 12 members announced by the secretary of defense are:

  • William J. Perry, co-chair
  • Stephen J. Hadley, co-chair
  • Richard L. Armitage
  • Jack Dyer Crouch II
  • Rudy F. deLeon
  • Joan A. Dempsey
  • Sherri W. Goodman
  • Ret. Navy Adm. David E. Jeremiah
  • Ret. Army Gen. George A. Joulwan
  • Alice C. Maroni
  • Ret. Marine Lt. Gen. Paul Van Riper
  • Ret. Air Force Gen. Larry D. Welch

Members appointed by Congress are:

  • Charles Curtis
  • Eric S. Edelman
  • Ret. Army Gen. John (Jack) Keane
  • Richard H. Kohn
  • John F. Lehman, Jr.
  • Ret. Army Lt. Col. John Nagl
  • Ret. Army Maj. Gen. Robert H. Scales, Jr.
  • James M. Talent